Make Merry


A unique take on Christmas carols in world music styles.

SKU: AMD002 Categories: ,


About make merry

Setting free their imagination, the Andrews Massey Duo have reinvented the Christmas carol. Their new album, “Make Merry”, brings a fresh take to the festive classics.

Recasting some of the most well-loved Christmas carols and seasonal songs in a variety of guises, “Make Merry” sees David (guitars) and Emily (flutes) touching on country, world music and folk to give you something different for Christmas this year.

They combine their classically-trained craft with improvisation to give an immediate, timeless appeal.

“Make Merry” ranges from the playful and virtuosic renditions of “Deck the Halls” and “Good King Wenceslas” through to the darker “Coventry Carol”.

A thrilling camel ride through “We Three Kings of Orient Are” contrasts with the magical rendition of “Silent Night”, where high guitar harmonics shine out a shimmering starscape above the alto flute’s gentle lullaby.

Following on from their acclaimed debut album “…from the roots”, “Make Merry” is a natural progression for this talented duo.



“An enchanting album… Highly imaginative arrangements, delivered with flair, technical brilliance and beautiful sound from both players… A true masterpiece of world music arrangement” – British Flute Society magazine, December 2014

Track List

  • We three Kings of Orient Are
  • Away in a Manger
  • Silent Night
  • Good King Wenceslas
  • Ding Dong Merrily on High
  • Jingle Bells
  • Coventry Carol
  • Hark the Herald Angels Sing
  • Deck the Halls
  • The Holly and the Ivy
  • God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
  • O Come o come Emmanuel
  • While Shepherds Watched