‘make merry’ release date November 23rd

Only 27 days to go, and counting… We’re finally nearly there – the release date of our new album ‘make merry’!

Here’s what we say and think about the album: IT’S ABSOLUTELY BRILLIANT!

Ok, and here is the more official version ;-):

Setting free our imagination, and combining our classical background with improvisation in country, folk and world music styles, we’ve given a fresh take to the festive classics.

Our approach to every song was different – sometimes we followed the words of the songs (for example Coventry Carol, about king Herod ordering the babies’ deaths, is naturally dark and anguished). But sometimes we turned a song upside-down, like Good King Wenceslas, often heard quite stately, but here transported to 20th century America in a country and western style.

A thrilling camel ride through “We Three Kings of Orient Are” contrasts with our rendition of “Silent Night”, where we used high guitar harmonics to shine out a shimmering starscape above the alto flute’s gentle lullaby.

Hopefully that’s enough to whet your appetites!

Songs Included:

  • We three Kings of Orient Are
  • Away in a Manger
  • Silent Night
  • Good King Wenceslas
  • Ding Dong Merrily on High
  • Jingle Bells
  • Coventry Carol
  • Hark the Herald Angels Sing
  • Deck the Halls
  • The Holly and the Ivy
  • God Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen
  • O Come o come Emmanuel
  • While Shepherds Watched

Clips from these songs will be released into the wild, from 18th November. Lookout!

  1. 7 years ago
    Karen Nevshehir

    Hi. I’ve just read the article about you both in the WHT. Is it possible to hear a “taster” of any of the tracks from “Make Merry”? I think I’d love it but don’t want to buy your album without listening to a bit of your music!
    Good luck to both of you.
    PS I don’t use Facebook,

  2. 7 years ago

    Hi Karen – great that you read the article – we’re still waiting to get a copy and see what they said about us! I’m guessing it’s good then…?

    We have three teaser clips available on this website’s “make merry” album page ( click here), and also there is a slightly different selection of clips on the dedicated album website, here.

    Finally, have a look at this animated clip from “we three kings” on the album – it’s longer and will give you a good feeling for the album as well as perhaps amusing you in the process! If you like that, there are more animated clips on the homepage of make merry

    Enjoy! Hope you like it and want to order it! Thanks for your interest, Emily and David

Leave a Reply